“Our Bed”

 

“Our Bed”

 

I do not want to be hassled by your childish games.

I lived with you for five long true years.

Now I wonder, how many men did you tarnish in our bed?

How many of their hearts have you left dead?

 

I wanted the “You” who would not change me – but you lie.

We all have faults – can be difficult.

Now I wonder, how many men did you screw in our bed?

How many of their hearts have you left dead?

 

Still, I am me and you should have accepted that – you don’t.

You did one time – Our love came freely.

I wonder how many hearts did you abuse in our bed?

How many of their hearts have you left dead?

 

You live a dream: never accepting my love or affection.

It went past this – love became deadly.

Now I wonder, how many souls did you rape in our bed?

How many of their hearts have you left dead?

 

I needed you – at one time you were that one – I thought

The one who liked me for who I am!

When at sea I thought how many did you soil in our bed?

How many of their hearts you have left dead?

 

In the sight of my daughter you have butchered my soul.

Hug me by day – sleep with all at night.

Now I am one of the many you have had in your bed!

One of the many hearts – you – have – left – dead!

 

Guy W. Lewis

September 30, 2010

